Best of
6 min read

Best oyakodon in Singapore: the chicken and egg bowl, from $6 to $20

Oyakodon is thin in Singapore, so this is an honest short list of six places with 2026 prices, from a $5.50 hawker chicken don to a $17.80++ salmon and roe oyako bowl.

By Singapore's Best Don editorial team

An oyakodon bowl of chicken and egg over rice

Oyakodon is the thinnest category in our data, so this is a short list. The best oyakodon in Singapore on what we can verify is Hatsumi Donburi and Soba for a halal $7.90 bowl at Raffles Xchange, followed by Gochi-So Shokudo for a $13.50 Oyako Don and Fukudon for a $6.80 sous vide chicken don at Marine Parade. Six places in all, and only two list a bowl actually called oyakodon with a 2026 price.

How we chose

We searched every open listing for a bowl filed as oyako don, and for oyako or chicken and egg in menu item names. That gave six places, and we ranked a named oyakodon with a 2026 price ahead of a bowl that is only the nearest match. Where the match is loose we say so in the entry. Closed and unverified listings are left out, including a Hana-Hana outlet whose Oyako Don appears on an undated menu. The price band is the shop's overall band in our directory: $ is a typical bowl under $12, $$ is $12 to $25 and $$$ is over $25. A ++ means service charge and GST are added. Data checked October 2026.

The 6, ranked

1. Hatsumi Donburi and Soba

Area: Raffles Place. Order: Oyakodon, $7.90

A halal certified shop at Raffles Xchange, per its own site, that adds no service charge or GST to its prices. The Oyakodon is $7.90, a build your own Scrambled Egg Don starts at $5.90 and the Grilled Miso Chicken Don is $9.90, with a Chicken Katsu Curry Don at $10.90 for variety. It opens Monday to Friday 10:30am to 8pm and Saturday to 5pm, and is closed on Sunday. It is the cheaper of the two named oyakodon with a 2026 price in our data, and its hours suit the Raffles Place lunch crowd.

2. Gochi-So Shokudo

Area: Raffles Place. Order: Oyako Don, $13.50

A casual eatery backed by Eurasia Global Food, a Singapore Iberico importer, and trading since at least 2017. It is built around charcoal grilled Iberico pork from Spain, with the classic chicken and egg bowl as a side option beside its Iberico pork jowl signature at $21.90. We link the Asia Square Tower 2 outlet. The price is from the official online menu in October 2026 and is a delivery and pickup price, so dine in is likely lower. The chain serves pork and does not state halal status.

3. Fukudon Marine Parade

Area: Katong. Order: Sous Vide Chicken Don, $6.80

A fusion Japanese stall that began in 2020 at Promenade Market on Marine Parade Central. Our data files the Sous Vide Chicken Don as the nearest oyako bowl, but the source does not describe it as chicken with egg, so ask what comes on top. The stall also sells a $7.50 Pork Belly Katsu Don and opens 11am to 8pm daily, per Eatbook in November 2025.

4. Butahage Suntec City

Area: Suntec City. Order: Salmon Ikura Oyako Don, $17.80++

This is a Singapore exclusive twist rather than the classic: salmon as the parent and ikura as the child, from an Obihiro style butadon chain whose signature is grilled pork loin on Hokkaido rice. The price comes from 2023 to 2025 coverage and we found no 2026 menu, so confirm before you order. The Suntec City outlet opens 11am to 10pm daily. See the Butahage chain page.

5. Liu Kou Shui Woodleigh Village

Area: Serangoon. Order: Green Chilli Chicken Don, $5.50

A hawker stall at Woodleigh Village Hawker Centre. We file its chicken don under oyakodon as the nearest type, but Eatbook's March 2025 review describes a green chilli chicken bowl, not chicken cooked in egg, so treat it as a cheap chicken don. The stall also sells a Caramelised Char Siew Don at $7 and serves pork.

6. Unatoto Guoco Tower

Area: Tanjong Pagar. Order: Oyakodon, no published price

Unatoto opened here in January 2023 and the menu is mainly eel, but opening reviews in January 2023 noted an oyakodon beside the unagi tempura don, skewers and sushi rolls, and we found no price. Treat it as a back up if you are already in the basement of Guoco Tower, and ask the staff for the current price. It serves pork and does not state halal status. See the Unatoto chain page.

Comparison table

PlaceAreaBowlPricePrice band
Hatsumi Donburi and SobaRaffles PlaceOyakodon$7.90$
Gochi-So ShokudoRaffles PlaceOyako Don$13.50$
Fukudon Marine ParadeKatongSous Vide Chicken Don$6.80$
Butahage Suntec CitySuntec CitySalmon Ikura Oyako Don$17.80++$$
Liu Kou Shui Woodleigh VillageSerangoonGreen Chilli Chicken Don$5.50$
Unatoto Guoco TowerTanjong PagarOyakodonno published price$

Where to find them

Two of the six, Hatsumi and Gochi-So Shokudo, are in Raffles Place, and the rest are spread across Katong, Suntec City, Serangoon and Tanjong Pagar. That makes the CBD the easiest place to eat a named oyakodon, and the heartland options are chicken bowls that only loosely fit the name. If you are planning around a lunch break, remember that Hatsumi closes on Sunday and Fukudon keeps an 8pm close.

How to order

Ask whether the egg is set loosely or cooked through, because that is what separates a good oyakodon from a plain chicken don. Ask whether the price is dine in or delivery, since Gochi-So Shokudo's online price runs higher than its counter price. If you want a halal bowl, rely on the certificate at Hatsumi rather than on a description from a food guide.

What counts as oyakodon

Oyakodon means parent and child bowl: chicken and egg cooked together in a sweet savoury broth and served over rice. The egg is usually set loosely, which is what separates it from a plain chicken don. Because it is a simple bowl, it tends to appear as one item on a longer menu rather than as a shop's headline, which is why our data has so few oyakodon specialists.

Why the list is short

Katsudon, gyudon and tendon each have a dozen or more places with a price on record, but oyakodon has two with a named bowl and a 2026 price. If you want a chicken and egg bowl, Hatsumi is the safest pick, and our oyako don guide explains the dish. If chicken is your goal more than egg, katsudon gives more choice, including a halal chicken katsu curry don. We would rather publish six honest entries than pad the list with dishes that only share a name. If you know a place serving a proper oyakodon that is not here, tell us through the contact page and we will check it.

Keep reading

Browse every oyako don shop in the directory, or read the oyako don guide and halal donburi in Singapore for certified chicken bowls. For other cutlet and egg bowls, see katsudon and bowls under $12, and you can filter by neighbourhood from the area index. Prices change, so confirm at the counter before you order.

Frequently asked questions

What does oyakodon mean?

Oyakodon means parent and child bowl, a Japanese rice bowl of chicken and egg simmered together in a sweet savoury broth. The parent is the chicken and the child is the egg, and Butahage plays on the name with salmon and roe.

How much does oyakodon cost in Singapore in 2026?

Hatsumi charges $7.90 with no service charge or GST, and Gochi-So Shokudo lists $13.50 on its online menu. Fukudon's chicken don is $6.80 and Butahage's salmon and ikura oyako don is $17.80++, from older coverage.

Is there halal oyakodon in Singapore?

Hatsumi Donburi and Soba at Raffles Xchange is halal certified per its own site and sells an Oyakodon at $7.90. Gochi-So Shokudo serves pork and does not state halal status, and the other places on this list are not flagged halal in our data.

Related Don Types

Ready to try some don?

Find the best donburi restaurants near you.

Browse Restaurants

Continue Reading